Navigate Up
Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksADLA > About the Archdiocese of Los Angeles

 About the Archdiocese of Los Angeles

Our Mission
We, the People of God of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles, humbly accept our mission to continue the redemptive work of Jesus Christ.
Baptized into the Body of Christ, confirmed in the Holy Spirit, and nourished by the Word and Eucharist, we share Christ's mission of priest, prophet and servant.
We affirm our oneness with the Catholic Church throughout the world, in communion with our Holy Father.
With the pastoral leadership of our Archbishop, we collaborate in various ways to live and proclaim the gospel.
Christ announced the reign of God. As Church, we are the instrument of this reign in the world. We commit ourselves to build a community of faith and love.
With Christ, we bring good news to the poor. We commit ourselves to eliminate the many faces of poverty in our midst— spiritual and moral.
With Christ, we uphold the dignity of human life. We commit ourselves to cherish each person and to be faithful stewards of all God's creation.
With Christ, we affirm the bonds that unite us. We commit ourselves to remove the barriers that divide people in the large, complex, and multicultural society of Southern California.
We dedicate our parish communities and our schools, institutions, ministries, and organizations to fulfill this mission under the loving patronage of Mary, Queen of the Angels.
Today, in Southern California
The Archdiocese of Los Angeles comprises three counties in the southern part of the State of California: Los Angeles, Ventura and Santa Barbara Counties. The area extends from the northern county line of Santa Barbara County, near the city of Santa Maria, to the southern county line of Los Angeles County.
It covers 8,762 square miles (22,430 square kilometers) of territory. The total Roman Catholic population, as of 2005, stands at 4,349,267 people living among a total population of 11,258,600.
There are 288 parishes located in 120 cities throughout the Archdiocese in the three counties. There are seven missions and chapels and nine Eastern Catholic churches. In all, there are a total of 225 Catholic elementary schools serving some 65,000 students, while there are 53 Catholic high schools with about 30,000 students enrolled. Together they comprise one of the three largest school systems in California in either the public or private sector.
Ethnic services in a very culturally mixed environment are offered to 72 different groups. These services include clergy, liturgy, social services, publications, counseling, and cultural affairs.
Yesterday, in Alta California
The first Church in Alta California was made up of 21 missions, three pueblos, four presidios and multiple asistencias. There was a plan behind the use of each. We can trace these foundations (in a more or less north to south order) along El Camino Real.
The Mission plan for evangelization:
  • San Francisco Solano (1823)
  • San Rafael Arcángel (1817)
  • San Francisco de Asís (1776)
  • San José de Guadalupe (1797)
  • Santa Clara de Asís (1777)
  • La Exaltación de la Santa Cruz (1791)
  • San Juan Bautista (1797)
  • San Carlos Borromeo [Carmel] (1771-2)
  • Nuestra Señora de la Soledad (1791)
  • San Antonio de Padua (1771)
  • San Miguel Arcángel (1797)
  • San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (1772)
  • La Purisima Concepción de María Santísima (1787)
  • Santa Ynez de Roma (1804)
  • Santa Bárbara (1786)
  • San Buenaventura (1782)
  • San Fernando Rey (1797)
  • San Gabriel Arcángel (1771)
  • San Juan Capistrano (1776)
  • San Luis Rey de Francia (1798)
  • San Diego de Alcalá (1769)
The Pueblo plan for settlement:
  • San José de Guadalupe near Santa Clara Mission (1777)
  • Villa de Branciforte near Santa Cruz Mission (1797)
  • Los Angeles near San Gabriel Arcangel Mission (1781)
The Presidio plan for protection:
  • San Francisco (1776)
  • Monterey (1770)
  • Santa Bárbara (1782)
  • San Diego (1769)
© The Roman Catholic Archbishop of Los Angeles,
a corp. sole. All Rights Reserved